Radio Silence

You guys. It’s been nearly 2 months since I posted things. Oh mountain of guilt. Sorry.

KIMG1952

Speaking of mountains, I was on this one most recently.

I’ve been doing things! Including moving to Seattle, exploring some trails, and getting really, really nervous about this little 50 mile (running. trail. mountain.) race I’ve signed up for (I may die). Pictures are more fun than words, and I take a lot of selfies, so here are my highlights from the last few months.

Step 1: Leave St. Louis. Not recommended: packing entire life into small car.

KIMG1600 KIMG1603

Step 2: Visit friends in awesome places.

KIMG1675

Find neat old trucks puttering up to the trails.

KIMG1688 KIMG1676

Step 3: SEE A MOUNTAIN LION! IN REAL LIFE! ALL ALONE AT THE TRAILHEAD!

KIMG1652

Look at the slightly lighter dot in the middle of the trail (under one of the furthest branches of the big pine tree with the trunk in the left. Yeah, phone cameras aren’t the greatest. And I wasn’t going to get a galmour shot.

KIMG1649

There’s really a mountain lion in this photo. I promise.

Step 4: Watch lil’ brudder graduate college. With his fiancee (whoa, yeah, mawwiage)

KIMG1685

KIMG1690

Wedding dress shopping with Jenna… good thing my mom got to go, it’s probably the only chance she’ll have (sorry not sorry).

Step 5: Ride more trails.

KIMG1699 KIMG1703 KIMG1714 KIMG1720

Step 6: Visit home. Love the puppies. Mow the lawn. Drink the beers.

KIMG1724 KIMG1728

Step 7: Drive and drive and drive some more!

KIMG1745

Not many driving photos. Safety first. But, check out the hop farms in Yakima!!! So. Excited.

Step 8: Set up new apartment

KIMG1817

Ikea. A terrifying experience, but I can now say I’ve done it? So many cam locks, so little time (and finger dexterity).

KIMG1774

‘wall decorations’

KIMG1815

Note – the geared bikes were shipped from home in Colorado instead of staying on the car. SO worth it. Check out bikeflights.com if you ever need to ship a bike!!

Step 9: Adventure!

KIMG1899

Rainier cherries from a fruit stand on the way back from Rainier… it’s only fair.

KIMG1898

Nap at camp muir. No air left.

KIMG1890

…but worth it.

KIMG1900

I have a bike twin at work!! Terrible photo, but we match. Except s/he has a fancier version with disc brake tabs. I’m debating leaving a note asking for a swap (mine is the one with the green saddle).

KIMG1961

The new race fuel. Cheap, peachy.

KIMG1963

The Sawyer mini water filter: my new favorite piece of gear. SO AWESOME!

KIMG1914

Climb all the mountains. Shred all the gnars. Try not to die or get hit by motos.

KIMG1874

Wait. All that work and I’m only at 5280 feet? wuf.

KIMG1856

Beaches and sunburn.

KIMG1978

Dip in the white river: it’s cold, fast, and white. From glacier melt? probably.

KIMG1991

My bike is just so pretty.

KIMG1946

2 thoughts on “Radio Silence

  1. The blog lives!!! Some questions: Why do I always look surprised in pictures you post of me? Where did you get the mumu? Can you send me cherries? Carry on with the adventures.

    • 1. We do such awesome things, you’re happy to be alive 2. It came from grandma’s stuff… old ladies have some cool shit 3. I can try, but they might cook and be mush, which would be really sad 4. duh.

Leave a Reply

