Non-Report: Castlewood 8 Hr

This year I was lucky enough to grab a spot in the Bonk Hard Castlewood 8Hour adventure race with some fast dudes. As my first ever experience with adventure racing (back in 2011!), the CW8 taught me some rough lessons:

badhelment

2011: I forgot my helment. Good thing Walmart was open at 5AM… and in retrospect I really regret not adjusting it better.

wanatoly

2011: Anatoly! Team redshift, checking in. Note the tennis shoes.

 

1. A single clif bar is not enough food for a full day of racing

2. When the race directors say it’s an 8 hour race, it will take you 8 hours (or more!), even if you think you’re in ‘good’ shape

3. A paddle section is not a float trip

As I’ve done a few other AR’s I’ve learned more lessons, but I was stoked to get back to a local, ‘sprint’ race… particularly with a new team, new category (4p co-ed, up with the big girls and boys), and new earlier start date! November makes for much more pleasant racing weather than December!

2013bikesnsnow

2013…bikes in boats in freezing weather (was it 7F? I think it was 7F)

thankfire

2013: Thank goodness for this fire. We needed a serious defrosting after the river.

 

Race specifics… have already been covered very quickly and thoroughly by Emily and Kate, and I don’t think at this point I’ll be able to add anything to their awesome reports! So, instead, I’ve started to collect shitty race photos. Enjoy!

runningstart1

Starting the race, everyone is so happy!

runningstart2eww

Derp.

Punch some points running, realize how tired legs are from Skippo (did I mention I raced a 30K last weekend? I did. It was awesome. I got 2nd, but more importantly, got to chat with Dwayne the entire time. He pushed it like a champ).

teammates

Runner Scott (L), navigator Jeremy (R) of team Extreme Electrical (x4)!

Get new map, get in boats (no bikes in boats this year! YAAAY!!)

neatfog

ewboats

Out of the boats! I’ve perfected the double-chin.

bikestart

On to the bikes!

passportcheck

But first… a gear check!

mapping

Find the flag

 

fall

So, slightly out of order… but back onto bikes for more b-e-a-utiful fall riding

 

teamish

Orienteering. I’m so helpful.

 

Some road riding, some trail riding, then sprinting on in to the finish in a time of… 5:45! For an 8 hour race! WTF?? No wonder my legs were so unhappy during the trek sections.

finishline

Great day racing – thanks to all the volunteers (I even know some of you now, and you’re waaay awesome to spend a day dealing with crazy racers checking gear and making sure all goes well! Thanks so much!!!) and to Gary and Ellen for putting on an awesome race. Can’t wait for the next one!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Non-Report: Castlewood 8 Hr

  1. You guys had a great race! Not that I was surprised, but I was stoked for you that you all had such a strong, fast finish. The picture of you smiling as Jeremy is looking at the map cracks me up.

    Two weekends, two straight podiums. You pretty much rock. 🙂

Leave a Reply

